The castle of Coppet near Nyon and Lake Geneva dominates the town with its exceptional architecture. This is the only inhabited and visitable castle in the canton of Vaud. It organises guided tours from spring to autumn, allowing the public to discover the personal objects of its illustrious resident of the 19th century: Madame de Staël.
Between the French Revolution and the Restauration, the castle of Coppet became a major intellectual centre in Europe. Madame de Staël (1766-1817), who was exiled by Napoléon, brought together Benjamin Constant, Charles-Victor de Bonstetten, Auguste Guillaume Schlegel and other thinkers, poets and princes in her family’s castle in Coppet.
The castle is now open to the public. It has retained the spirit of the place, which is imbued with the presence of its illustrious guests who have just taken a short leave of absence. Located in the shade of a romantic park, the castle of Coppet, which was built in the 13th century and transformed into a residence in the 18th century, rises above Lake Geneva and the fortified town of Coppet.
This historic building regularly provides the setting for events such as celebrations in its enchanting garden, “murder and mystery” evenings and a Christmas market. Four rooms, the cellars and gardens can be rented for memorable private events.
Château de Coppet
The castle is open by April 1 st until October 31th, from 2.00 - 6.00 pm.
If you like to visite the castle between this date, please send a mail at the following e-mail address : firstname.lastname@example.org