Brotherhood of Winegrowers Museum
Publicly known as organiser of the Winegrowers' Festival, the ancient Brotherhood of Winegrowers shows its activities, its history and its secular traditions in a unique venue.
The Brotherhood of Winegrowers, whose origins are as mysterious as they are old, has established its headquarters on the first floor of Vevey Castle, a 16th century building, which it owns. The first written traces proving the existence of the Brotherhood go back to the year 1647, but several clues give rise to the supposition that it has existed since the Middle Ages.
Although mostly known for the organisation of the Winegrowers' Festival, an impressive celebration held roughly every 25 years, the Brotherhood of Winegrowers mainly aims to encourage and promote the cultivation of vines.
Inside the museum, apart from the meeting room of the Council of the Brotherhood of Winegrowers, a room can be visited exhibiting costumes, engravings and countless objects in connection with past Winegrowers' Festivals. Film excerpts let visitors experience festivals since the beginning of the 20th century. Commented group visits are available on request.