Montreux Riviera

Winter, just a few minutes away from town

Overlooking the Swiss Riviera on the shores of Lake Geneva, the family-friendly resorts of Rochers-de-Naye and Pléiades offer a change of scenery on snow-capped mountains. They are just a short train ride away from the towns of Montreux and Vevey. You will get there fast aboard lovely little trains departing from the shores of Lake Geneva. During the festive season, Montreux Noël sets up Switzerland’s largest and one of Europe’s most beautiful Christmas markets on the lakeside proms. Your children will even get to meet Father Christmas on Rochers-de-Naye!

Special offer

Easily accessible by train from the towns of Montreux and Vevey, the resorts of Rochers-de-Naye and Pléades offer superb slopes, diversified activities, typical restaurants and, above all, sumptuous panoramas. Peaking at an altitude of 2,042 metres, Rochers-de-Naye offers great snow conditions from the beginning of the winter season. The facilities are suited for skiing and snowboarding. Further below, in the Jaman ski region, a guide takes experienced skiers down off-piste in powder snow. Memorable freeride experience guaranteed. Above Caux, a guided snowshoe walk starts at the sunset reflected in Lake Geneva and ends with glowing torches after enjoying local produce and wine. The offer of all these resorts is complemented by a variety of urban cultural activities, the ice rinks in the city and even a unique experience: Steam on the water, a spa on the water's edge.

Montreux Christmas: a fairy-tale market

During the Christmas holiday, the town of Montreux transforms into one of Switzerland and Europe’s most beautiful Christmas markets. The beautiful lakeside promenades fill up with approximately 150 typical cottages offering traditional dishes and artisanal gifts. Children’s eyes really start shining when they embark on a unique adventure: visiting Father Christmas in his magical house on Rochers-de-Naye! At the end of the day, visitors to the market can even see him cross the sky on his sled pulled by reindeer. A unique attraction that takes the elderly man with the white beard from the shores of Lake Geneva to the market square 300 yards further away!
New event Light on Ice: visitors will be able to access a two-hour magical world of light and ice. From skating on real ice to walking for the less adventurous, the young and not so young can experience different worlds: The enchanted forest, the polar space, the workshop of Father Christmas, a light show, plus an ice bar for those over 18 years.

Les Pléiades: a fun winter playground for all the family

To satisfy all tastes, Les Pléiades also has  three dedicated cross-country slopes and there are also marked snowshoeing tracks. Its regional space is a short walk from the train line, offering every comfort to inhabitants and visitors. The Swiss Ski Schools are present in several resorts of the Montreux Riviera. They offer information and courses for all levels. What’s more, the Montreux Oberland (MOB) rail company organises various activities. Hop aboard to get to a restaurant or outdoor site to savour a mouth-watering raclette. More into walking? Why not try out the lantern-lit walk in Les Pléiades.

The funicular and sled track at Les Avants

The lovely natural ice rink in Caux above Montreux is a delight for skaters, weather permitting. In winter, the Orgevaux/Sonloup mountain road  is closed to traffic (except for inhabitants). Instead, there is a fun sled track leading down to Les Avants station. The beginning of the track can be accessed by a funicular dating back to 1910. This is one of the many rail lines operated by the Montreux Oberland (MOB) railway, which also runs the famous panoramic GoldenPass line linking Montreux to Lucerne. In addition, the MOB organizes various events and allows you to reach several restaurants or open-air sites to enjoy an excellent raclette, without forgetting the enchanting lantern path in Les Pléiades.

Practical information

  • Montreux Riviera Tourisme
  • Place de l'Eurovision
  • 1820 Montreux - CH

Terms and conditions

What if our personalised recommendations don’t suit you?

you can choose to base the recommendations displayed on your own requirements and interests. Whether you’re looking for a solo adventure, family activities or a gourmet trip with your spouse, the suggestions made will be based on your own preferences.

You want to find out what the local tourist attractions are based on your current location?

You can use the map on each page to establish your location and find local points of interest. So you’ll be able to explore the canton, region by region, select the places you’re going to visit along a planned route and get a quick idea of what a town has to offer you.

You want to make your own selection? Just store your top picks in favourites!

If you want to store your selection, print it, export it to your free smartphone app "Vaud:Guide” or share it with your friends, you'll can do all this with “Favourites”.

You want to share your wish list And your choices with your friends? That’s simple!

X

Coronavirus: Situation in Switzerland

Stay informed on all measures related to COVID-19 in Switzerland and the Canton of Vaud.

Montreux Riviera

Der Winter vor den Toren der Stadt

Die familienfreundlichen Wintersportgebiete oberhalb der Waadtländer Riviera und des Genfersees Les Rochers-de-Naye und Les Pléiades bieten einen Tapetenwechsel mit verschneiten Bergen – ein Katzensprung von den beiden Städten Montreux und Vevey. Dank bezaubernder Bergbahnen sind sie vom Seeufer aus direkt und schnell erreichbar. Im Advent findet mit Montreux Noël auf der Seepromenade der grösste Weihnachtsmarkt der Schweiz statt, einer der schönsten Europas. Kinder können dann auf den Rochers-de-Naye sogar dem Weihnachtsmann begegnen!

Sonderangebot

Die mit dem Zug von den Städten Montreux und Vevey aus leicht erreichbaren Wintersportgebiete Les Rochers-de-Naye und Les Pléiades bieten schöne Pisten, vielfältige Aktivitäten, typische Restaurants und vor allem prachtvolle Panoramen. Auf 2042 Metern über Meer profitieren Les Rochers-de-Naye mit Anlagen für Ski- und Snowboardfahrer schon zu Beginn der Wintersaison von guten Schneeverhältnissen. Mitten im Gebiet von Jaman begleitet ein Führer erfahrene Freerider auch zu einem unvergesslichen Skierlebnis im Pulverschnee! Die begleitete Schneeschuhwanderung in Hauts de Caux beginnt ihrerseits mit Aussicht auf den Sonnenuntergang, der sich im Genfersee spiegelt, und endet bei Fackellicht – nach dem Genuss von Terroir-Produkten und Wein aus der Region. Ergänzt wird das Angebot der verschiedenen Wintersportgebiete durch vielfältige urbane Kulturaktivitäten, Eisbahnen in der Stadt und ein wirklich einzigartiges Erlebnis: Steam on the water, ein Spa direkt am See.

Montreux Noël: Ein märchenhafter Weihnachtsmarkt

Im Advent verwandelt sich die Stadt Montreux einen Monat lang in einen der schönsten Weihnachtsmärkte der Schweiz und Europas. Auf der berühmten Seepromenade werden etwa 150 typische Holzbuden aufgebaut, die traditionelle Speisen und handgefertigte Geschenkartikel anbieten. Ein Abenteuer, das seinesgleichen sucht, bringt Kinderaugen besonders zum Leuchten: der Besuch des Weihnachtsmannes auf Les Rochers-de-Naye in seinem märchenhaften Haus! Gegen Abend können ihn die Marktbesucher sogar am Himmel erblicken, in seinem von Rentieren gezogenen Schlitten. Eine einmalige Attraktion, die den alten Mann mit weissem Bart vom Seeufer bis zum 300 Meter entfernten Marktplatz bringt!
Neue Veranstaltung Light on Ice: Zwei Stunden lang erhalten Besucher Zugang zu einer Zauberwelt aus Licht und Eis. Auf Schlittschuhen – oder für weniger Mutige auch ganz einfach zu Fuss – gelangen Gross und Klein in verschiedene Welten: einen Zauberwald, einen Polarbereich, die Werkstatt des Weihnachtsmanns, eine Lightshow und eine Ice-Bar (ab 18 Jahren).

Les Pléiades: Ein familienfreundliches Wintersportgebiet

Les Pléiades setzen auf die Karte Vielfalt und wenden sich mit drei Rundloipen auch an Langlauffreunde. Sie bieten auch ausgeschilderten Schneeschuhtrails. Das regionale Nordische Zentrum unweit der Bahnlinie erfüllt alles, was es für das Wohlbefinden von Einheimischen und Gästen braucht. Die Schweizer Skischule ist in der Region Montreux Riviera an verschiedenen Orten vertreten und bietet viele Kurse und Informationen für das Publikum. Zudem organisiert die Montreux-Berner Oberland-Bahn (MOB) verschiedene Veranstaltungen und ermöglicht, mehrere Lokale zu erreichen, um ein ausgezeichnetes Raclette zu geniessen. Sie bedient auch viele Ausgangspunkte für Aktivitäten im Freien wie den magischen Laternenweg auf Les Pléiades.

Standseilbahn und Schlittelbahn in Les Avants

Oberhalb von Montreux begeistert die hübsche Natureisbahn von Caux Schlittschuhläufer, sofern es das Wetter zulässt. Dann wird auch die Bergstrasse Orgevaux/Sonloup für den Verkehr gesperrt (Anlieger ausgenommen), und zu einer amüsanten Schlittelbahn umfunktioniert, die bis zum Bahnhof von Les Avants hinabführt. Zum Ausgangspunkt gelangt man mit einer Standseilbahn von 1910. Dabei handelt es sich um eine der vielen, von der Montreux-Berner Oberland-Bahn (MOB) unterhaltenen Bahnlinien, zu denen auch die berühmten GoldenPass-Panoramazüge zwischen Montreux und Luzern gehören.

Praktische Informationen

  • Montreux Riviera Tourisme
  • Place de l'Eurovision
  • 1820 Montreux - CH

Nützliche Links

Allgemeine Bedingungen

Lassen Sie Sich Von Unseren Individuellen Empfehlungen Überraschen!

Mit einem Mausklick auf dieses Piktogramm, können Sie die Empfehlungen, die Ihren Wünschen und Interessen entsprechend angezeigt werden, selbst steuern. Individuelles Abenteuer, Aktivitäten mit der Familie, gastronomischer Streifzug mit dem Partner. Die Angebote entsprechen Ihren persönlichen Vorlieben.

Sie Möchten Gern Ihren Geografischen Standort Auswählen Und Das Touristische Angebot In Ihrer Nähe Entdecken?

Die auf jeder Seite angezeigte Karte hilft Ihnen, Ihren Standort zu bestimmen und interessante Ausflugsziele bzw. Sehenswürdigkeiten in der Nähe zu finden. Auf diese Weise können Sie jede Region des Kantons erforschen und die Orte auswählen, die Sie auf einer bestimmten Route besuchen werden, und auf einen Blick sehen, was Ihnen eine Stadt zu bieten hat.

Sie Möchten Ihre Eigene Auswahl Treffen? Nehmen Sie Ihre Highlights In Die Favoriten Auf!

Sie möchten Ihre Auswahl speichern, ausdrucken, auf Ihre Gratis-Smartphoneapplikation «Vaud:Guide» exportieren oder mit Freunden teilen. All dies ist möglich, wenn Sie Ihre Auswahl unter «Favoriten» abspeichern.

Sie Möchten Ihre Wünsche Und Ihre Auswahl Mit Ihren Freunden Teilen? Ganz Einfach!

X

Coronavirus: Situation in der Schweiz

Bleiben Sie über alle Massnahmen im Zusammenhang mit dem Coronavirus in der Schweiz und im Kanton Waadt informiert.