Balloon Festival

Château-d’Oex
Rougemont
Rossinière

The capital of the hot-air balloon and the heart of Vaudois traditions

In an authentic mountain atmosphere, the resorts of Pays-d’Enhaut offer activities that focus on traditions and soft tourism. There are a host of sports activities for all the family, and, for gourmet moments, traditional cheeses at Maison de L’Etivaz and at welcoming restaurants. Château-d’Oex, the capital of hot-air ballooning, brings together balloonists from all around the world during the International Hot-Air Ballooning Festival.

Thanks to its ideal weather conditions, Château-d'Oex is the Swiss capital of hot-air ballooning. It has organised the yearly International Hot-Air Ballooning Festival for more than 40 years. Approximately hundred aérostiers come from all over the world to brighten up the sky above the village, much to the delight of inhabitants and many visitors. The history of this long ballooning tradition can be discovered at Espace Ballon, a modern museum that is suitable for the whole family. Another must-see cultural place is the Musée du Vieux Pays-d’Enhaut. It exhibits objects of everyday life in the olden days as well as paper cut-outs, an artistic tradition that has been kept alive in the region.

L’Etivaz, a cheese to be enjoyed even when you're not hungry

Visitors can learn something new while tasting something different: Maison de L’Etivaz reveals all the secrets of this hard cheese from the mountain pastures. Its name is derived from the village that contains its famous cheese maturation cellars. Château-d'Oex also shows how cheese is made at Le Chalet, a restaurant and cheese dairy that is well known for its typical fondues.

infography

Various family activities

Pays-d’Enhaut offers many sports activities in addition to skiing and cross-country skiing. Families appreciate the picturesque forest walks for snowshoes along the Sarine River. Fans of spectacular leisure activities may be more drawn to learning “skijöring” - an activity that consists in a skier or snowboarder being pulled by a horse either quite slowly or at great speed. The 3-hour timed course at Les Moulins - Les Monts-Chevreuils is for sport enthusiasts who love a challenge. Thanks to the “Timmy” application on your smartphone, you can record your time and share it once you reach the peak at 1,700 m above sea-level. From December to March, you can get sustenance almost every day at the cabin and even spend the night there (advance booking required).

Practical information

  • Pays-d’Enhaut Région Economie et Tourisme | Château-d’Oex
  • Place du Village 6
  • 1660 Château d'Oex - CH

Terms and conditions

What if our personalised recommendations don’t suit you?

you can choose to base the recommendations displayed on your own requirements and interests. Whether you’re looking for a solo adventure, family activities or a gourmet trip with your spouse, the suggestions made will be based on your own preferences.

You want to find out what the local tourist attractions are based on your current location?

You can use the map on each page to establish your location and find local points of interest. So you’ll be able to explore the canton, region by region, select the places you’re going to visit along a planned route and get a quick idea of what a town has to offer you.

You want to make your own selection? Just store your top picks in favourites!

If you want to store your selection, print it, export it to your free smartphone app "Vaud:Guide” or share it with your friends, you'll can do all this with “Favourites”.

You want to share your wish list And your choices with your friends? That’s simple!

Heissluftballon Festival

Château-d’Oex
Rougemont
Rossinière

Hochburg des Heissluftballons und Herz Waadtländer Traditionen

Neben der authentischen Bergstimmung zeichnen sich die Wintersportorte im Pays-d’Enhaut durch Aktivitäten aus, die auf Traditionen und einen sanften Tourismus setzen. Es fehlt auch nicht an Sportmöglichkeiten für die ganze Familie, während die Käsetradition in der Maison de L’Etivaz und in gemütlichen Restaurants erlebt werden kann. In der Hochburg des Heissluftballons Château-d’Oex treffen bei einem internationalen Festival Ballonfahrer aus der ganzen Welt zusammen.

Dank idealer klimatischer Bedingungen gilt Château-d’Oex als Schweizer Hochburg des Heissluftballons. Seit über 40 Jahren wird hier jedes Jahr das Internationale Ballonfestival durchgeführt, zu dem jeweils rund hundert Ballonfahrer aus der ganzen Welt kommen, um vor den Augen der staunenden Bewohner und Besucher bunte Farbtupfer an den Himmel zu zaubern. Die Geschichte dieser langen Ballonfahrt-Tradition kann im Espace Ballon entdeckt werden, einem modernen, familienfreundlichen Museum. Eine weitere Kulturstätte, die man nicht verpassen darf, ist das Musée du Vieux Pays-d’Enhaut, in dem Gebrauchsgegenstände von früher und Scherenschnitte ausgestellt sind, eine in der Region immer noch sehr lebendige künstlerische Tradition.

L’Etivaz, ein Käse für endlosen Genuss

Genussreich Lernen lautet das Motto in der Maison de L’Etivaz, die uns alle Geheimnisse des gleichnamigen Alpkäses erzählt; er trägt denselben Namen wie das Dorf, in dem sich die berühmten Reifungskeller befinden. Auch in Château-d’Oex kommt die Käseherstellung zu Ehren, im Le Chalet, einem Restaurant mit Käserei, das für seine typischen Fondues bekannt ist.

infography

Diverse Aktivitäten für Familien

Neben Skifahren und Langlaufen bietet das Pays-d’Enhaut viele weitere Winteraktivitäten. Familien schätzen die malerischen Schneeschuhwanderungen im Wald entlang der Saane. Liebhaber spektakulärer Freizeitvergnügen können ihrerseits «Skijöring» ausprobieren. Dabei wird ein Skifahrer oder Snowboarder von einem Pferd gezogen, sei es zu einer gemütlichen Ausfahrt oder einem rasanten Wettlauf. Für alle, die eine sportliche Herausforderung suchen, gibt es den 3-stündigen Schneeschuhtrail Les Moulins - Les Monts-Chevreuils. Dank der Smartphone-App Timmy können Schneeschuhläufer hier ihre Zeit messen und sich nach Ankunft auf dem Gipfel auf 1700 Metern über Meer mit anderen vergleichen. Von Dezember bis März können sie sich zudem fast jeden Tag in der Hütte verpflegen und auch dort übernachten (auf Voranmeldung).

Praktische Informationen

  • Pays-d’Enhaut Région Economie et Tourisme | Château-d’Oex
  • Place du Village 6
  • 1660 Château d'Oex - CH

Allgemeine Bedingungen

Lassen Sie Sich Von Unseren Individuellen Empfehlungen Überraschen!

Mit einem Mausklick auf dieses Piktogramm, können Sie die Empfehlungen, die Ihren Wünschen und Interessen entsprechend angezeigt werden, selbst steuern. Individuelles Abenteuer, Aktivitäten mit der Familie, gastronomischer Streifzug mit dem Partner. Die Angebote entsprechen Ihren persönlichen Vorlieben.

Sie Möchten Gern Ihren Geografischen Standort Auswählen Und Das Touristische Angebot In Ihrer Nähe Entdecken?

Die auf jeder Seite angezeigte Karte hilft Ihnen, Ihren Standort zu bestimmen und interessante Ausflugsziele bzw. Sehenswürdigkeiten in der Nähe zu finden. Auf diese Weise können Sie jede Region des Kantons erforschen und die Orte auswählen, die Sie auf einer bestimmten Route besuchen werden, und auf einen Blick sehen, was Ihnen eine Stadt zu bieten hat.

Sie Möchten Ihre Eigene Auswahl Treffen? Nehmen Sie Ihre Highlights In Die Favoriten Auf!

Sie möchten Ihre Auswahl speichern, ausdrucken, auf Ihre Gratis-Smartphoneapplikation «Vaud:Guide» exportieren oder mit Freunden teilen. All dies ist möglich, wenn Sie Ihre Auswahl unter «Favoriten» abspeichern.

Sie Möchten Ihre Wünsche Und Ihre Auswahl Mit Ihren Freunden Teilen? Ganz Einfach!