In addition to the Brotherhood Council’s meeting room, visitors to the museum can explore different spaces displaying costumes, artefacts, and valuable records relating to bygone Fête des Vignerons celebrations. These Winegrowers’ Festivals have taken place once a generation since 1797 and are listed as UNESCO intangible cultural heritage.
The Brotherhood of Winegrowers, whose origins are as mysterious as they are old, has established its headquarters on the first floor of Vevey Castle, a 16th century building, which it owns. The first written traces proving the existence of the Brotherhood go back to the year 1647, but several clues give rise to the supposition that it has existed since the Middle Ages.
While it is primarily known for organising the Fête des Vignerons, an impressive festival that takes place about every 20 years, the main purpose of the Confrérie des Vignerons is to encourage and promote vine growing.
Inside the museum, apart from the meeting room of the Council of the Brotherhood of Winegrowers, a room can be visited exhibiting costumes, engravings and countless objects in connection with past Winegrowers' Festivals. Film excerpts let visitors experience festivals since the beginning of the 20th century. Commented group visits are available on request.
Dates / Opening hours
min.---°C / max.---°C